14-18 Langres

at war

The Fire at the Theater:


In 1915 in Langres, a disaster happened which changed the landscape of the town and its cultural life for many long years: the fire at the theater.

It was in this theater with its majestic décor that a public rehearsal took place for the first time on 16th August 1915. It was given by military actors before officers and their families who were watching a patriotic play « His Son » and a comedy « The Good Doctor ». After an enjoyable evening, they left the theater at around half past midnight. A short time later, a neighbour gave the alert and watched from his home as the disaster began. Soon the alarm bells rang out over the whole town and help arrived on the scene.

Unfortunately measures to reduce water consumption and waste in the particularly hot summer of 1915 held back their intervention. When water did finally arrive, it was already too late to save the building. The rescue party concentrated on the neighbouring houses to avoid the fire spreading. A team of soldiers, police officers and gendarmes surrounded the site of the fire.

Le Spectateur dated 22nd August gave a detailed account of the catastrophe: « At around half past one, a terrible noise was heard; it was the roof of the theater and the chandelier which collapsed throwing millions of sparks out into the sky. The sight was magnificent in its horror. Almost the whole town was lit up by the reflection of the flames, and in the air a kind of luminous mist floated forming a halo which must have been visible from a great distance. »

In the face of the size of the fire, the neighbourhood has to be evacuated. So « Light infantrymen and foot soldiers tried to save the furniture, and the sight of these hasty removals in the night was lamentable » (En Avant, 22 August 1915). Furniture was deposited on the pavement, cars had to be taken out from the neighbouring garage which was touched by the flames, and cans of petrol and oil from the nearby grocery store « La Ménagère ». Some untrustworthy people took the opportunity to help themselves to objects left standing in the street. At 4 o'clock in the morning, the fire was under control, but only the walls of the theater remained.

Other articles relative to the theater:

Theatre en 1900

Legal notice | Website map

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33

14-18 Langres

en guerre

L’incendie du théâtre :


A Langres, l’année 1915 est marquée par un sinistre qui va impacter le paysage urbain et la vie culturelle pendant de longues années : l’incendie du théâtre.

C’est dans ce décor majestueux que se déroule le 16 août 1915 une répétition ouverte au public. Elle est donnée par des artistes militaires devant les officiers et leurs familles qui assistent au drame patriotique « Son fils » et à la comédie « le Bon Docteur ». Enchantés de leur soirée, ils quittent les lieux vers minuit et demi. Peu de temps après, l’alerte est donnée par un habitant du voisinage qui assiste au départ du sinistre depuis chez lui. Bientôt le tocsin résonne dans toute la ville et les secours arrivent sur place.

Hélas, les mesures prises par la municipalité afin de limiter le gaspillage d’eau, en cet été 1915 particulièrement chaud, retardent leur intervention. Lorsque l’eau arrive enfin, il est déjà trop tard pour sauver le bâtiment. Les secours se concentrent alors sur les maisons voisines pour éviter la propagation de l’incendie. Un service d’ordre composé de soldats, d’agents de police et de gendarmes encadre le lieu du sinistre.

Le Spectateur du 22 août dans un article détaillé donne un aperçu de la catastrophe : « Vers une heure et demi on entendit un fracas terrible, c’était le toit du théâtre et le lustre qui s’écroulaient en projetant dans le ciel des millions d’étincelles. Le spectacle était magnifique dans son horreur. La ville était presque entièrement illuminée par le reflet des flammes et dans l’air flottait une espèce de buée lumineuse qui formait une auréole et devait s’apercevoir à une grande distance. »

Devant l’ampleur de l’incendie, il faut déménager le voisinage. Ainsi « Petits chasseurs, fantassins procédèrent au sauvetage des mobiliers, et le spectacle était lamentable de ces déménagements faits à la hâte dans la nuit. » (En Avant, 22 août 1915). Les meubles sont entreposés sur le trottoir, il faut sortir les voitures d’une carrosserie voisine touchée par les flammes ainsi que les bidons d’essence et de pétrole du hangar de l’épicerie « La Ménagère ». Certaines personnes malintentionnées en profitent pour se servir dans les objets déposés à même la rue. A 4 heures du matin enfin, l’incendie est maîtrisé, il ne reste que les murs du théâtre.

Autres articles relatifs au théâtre :

Theatre en 1900

Mentions Légales | Plan

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33