14-18 Langres

at war

The Theater’s reconstruction


The municipality took on the services of an expert, M. Dumont from Troyes, and signed a contract with M. Bonnotte, a local businessman, to clear the site. The Town's insurance contract reimbursed 145 771.47 Francs and an emergency fence was erected around the ruined theater to avoid accidents.

No work was undertaken before the end of the war, and it was not until 1922 that the rebuilding of the theater was envisaged. The architect Méot gave an estimate of 210 000 Francs. However, only 44 000 Francs remained from the sum reimbursed by the insurance company. The Town was heavily indebted and they also needed to think about the former cog-railway. On 28th October 1922 however, the municipal council decided to partially rebuild the theater: to protect the walls and carry out roofing work to a sum of 108 000 Francs.

At the end of 1923 this was achieved, and the acceptance took place during a council meeting on 14th April 1924. In August, a second phase of work was undertaken, to « close the openings, build a ceiling, a stage, and lay a floor to allow the hall to be used ». This work was completed in 1926: acceptance of the flooring took place on 16th January, and that of the woodwork and locksmithing in November.

Theatre en 1996

However, the people of Langres still needed to be patient... Minutes of a meeting on 25th February 1931 stipulate that the theater had « served for several years to shelter several victims so that until now we (the municipal council) have been unable to carry out our project ». Furthermore, the work carried out seemed insufficient, particularly the « Staircase for the exit completely insufficient for a theater » and the « carpentry of the stage, in wood instead of having been provided in reinforced concrete ».

Consequently, an offer was launched to find an architect to finish the interior. Only one project was proposed, by M. Mongin, architect, for the sum of 214 000 Francs. The Town was unable to finance such a project, and so it was revised for less. The first phase was to allow rudimentary use of the hall (500 seats for conferences, concerts and shows with basic production needs). The construction of a reinforced concrete balcony was undertaken.

On 11th July 1934, the municipal council authorised the launch of the second phase of works for the interior. It allowed not only for the permanent decoration of the hall, but also for the installation of central heating. On 27th July 1935, an annex was built to house props and decors which had till then been stored in the old Carteret-Trécourt barracks. On 13th December, the management rules were revised, and on 28th February 1936, the first bookings were examined.

Theatre en 1996

In 2000, the theatre was completely renovated and can now seat 250 spectators.

Theatre en 2000

Legal notice | Website map

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33

14-18 Langres

en guerre

La reconstruction du théâtre


Après l’incendie, la municipalité prend l’attache d’un expert, M. Dumont demeurant à Troyes, et passe un marché avec M. Bonnotte, entrepreneur à Langres, pour dégager le site. Les assurances contractées par la Ville remboursent 145 771,47 francs et, dans l’urgence, une clôture est réalisée autour du théâtre en ruine pour éviter les incidents.

Rien ne sera entrepris avant la fin de la guerre, c’est en 1922 que la reconstruction du théâtre est envisagée. L’architecte Méot propose un devis à hauteur de 210 000 frs. Cependant, il ne reste que 44 000 frs sur la somme remboursée par les assurances. La Ville croule sous les dépenses et il lui faut également se préoccuper de la crémaillère. Le 28 octobre 1922, le Conseil Municipal décide toutefois de reconstruire partiellement le théâtre, à savoir de protéger les murs et de réaliser des travaux de charpente et de toiture pour la somme de 108 000 francs.

C’est chose faite à la fin de l’année 1923, la réception des travaux se faisant dans une séance du conseil en date du 14 avril 1924. Au mois d’août, une deuxième phase de travaux est engagée pour « fermer les ouvertures, construire un plafond, une scène, et établir un sol pour permettre l’utilisation de la salle. » ces aménagements s’achèvent en 1926 : la réception du dallage est effective le 16 janvier, celle des travaux de menuiserie et de serrurerie au mois de novembre.

Theatre en 1996

Cependant, les Langrois doivent encore faire preuve de patience… La délibération du 25 février 1931 stipule que le théâtre « a servi depuis plusieurs années à abriter plusieurs sinistrés de sorte que jusqu’à maintenant nous [le conseil municipal] n’avons pu réaliser notre projet. » De plus les travaux réalisés ne semblent pas satisfaisants notamment l’ « Escalier de dégagement tout à fait insuffisant pour un théâtre » et la « Charpente de la scène, en bois au lieu d’être prévue en ciment armé. »

Un concours d’architecte est par conséquent lancé pour achever les aménagements intérieurs. Un seul projet est proposé, celui de M. Mongin, architecte, pour la somme de 214 000 francs. La Ville n’ayant pas les finances nécessaires pour engager une telle dépense, le projet est revu à la baisse. Une première phase doit permettre une utilisation rudimentaire de la salle (500 places pour des conférences, concerts et spectacles avec une mise en scène basique). La construction d’un balcon en béton armé est engagée.

Le 11 juillet 1934, le conseil municipal autorise le lancement de la deuxième phase d’aménagements intérieurs. Elle prévoit, en plus de la décoration définitive de la salle, l’installation du chauffage central. Le 27 juillet 1935, une annexe est construite pour y abriter les décors entreposés jusqu’alors dans l’ancienne caserne Carteret-Trécourt. Le 13 décembre, le règlement est révisé, et le 28 février 1936 les premières demandes de location sont prises en compte.

Theatre en 1996

En 2000, le théâtre est entièrement rénové et peut accueillir désormais 250 spectateurs.

Theatre en 2000

Mentions Légales | Plan

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33