14-18 Langres

at war

The Theater’s construction in 19th century


On 17th December 1833, the municipal council decided to install a theater in the old church of the seminary. Previously, the town had profitably sold the ramparts to the army and was thus in possession of a good sum of money. The creation of a theater was thus thought a suitable idea to compensate the loss for the population « all at once deprived, by the sale of the ramparts, of pleasures and advantages which had been dear to them for many years »

The building had been bought after the Revolution with the idea of making it a theater. For lack of funds, it had been used as a depot. On 19th December 1833, the municipal council decided to consecrate 30 000 francs to carry out the necessary work. The plans were drawn up by the architects Santa and Sylvestre. After much tergiversation, mainly to do with the cost of the project, the plans were reworked several times until the work was made to fit in with the allocated budget.

Renovation commenced in 1836 and was completed in 1838 with the installation of central heating. The initial project for the facade only retained the ancient columns and their entablature along with the gateway with its recesses on each side. The upper fronton, which was to be replaced by four statues and a window, was finally reduced and sculpted with objects relating to the new use of the building.

The interior was decorated by a Venetian artist, Napoleon Sachetti, and is totally in accordance with Restauration style: the ceiling shows « decoration borrowed from Herculanum, bas-reliefs on a blue background with griffons, Roman objects, golden pilasters... festoons and garlands » (Le théâtre de Langres et son passé historique, 1838-1850 – F. Boissard). The boxes were also decorated with griffons holding up medallions containing mainly portraits of great play-wrights.

Theatre en plan

Theatre en plan

Legal notice | Website map

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33

14-18 Langres

en guerre

La construction du théâtre au XIXe siècle


Le 17 décembre 1833, le conseil municipal décide d’aménager une salle de spectacles dans l’ancienne église du séminaire. Peu de temps auparavant, la Ville vend avantageusement ses remparts à l’armée et dispose par conséquent de ressources financières importantes. La création du théâtre est envisagée pour compenser un manque auprès de la population « tout à coup privée, par la vente de ses remparts, et d’agréments et d’avantages, qui depuis de longues années lui étaient bien chers. »

Le bâtiment avait été acheté après la Révolution dans l’optique d’en faire une salle de spectacle. Faute de budget il était utilisé depuis comme entrepôt. Le 19 décembre 1833, le Conseil décide de consacrer 30 000 francs à l’exécution des travaux nécessaires. La réalisation des plans est confiée aux architectes Santa et Sylvestre. Après de multiples tergiversations, liées principalement au coût du projet, les plans sont retravaillés à plusieurs reprises pour faire entrer les travaux dans l’enveloppe budgétaire.

L’aménagement commence en 1836 et s’achève en 1838 avec l’installation du calorifère. Le projet initial de façade ne conserve de l’ancienne que les colonnes et leur entablement ainsi que le portail et les niches de chaque côté. Le fronton supérieur, qui doit être remplacé par quatre statues et une fenêtre, est finalement rétréci et sculpté d'objets en lien avec la nouvelle destination du lieu.

A l’intérieur, le décor est confié à l’artiste vénitien Napoléon Sachetti et s’inscrit complètement dans la mouvance du style Restauration : le plafond présente des « ornements empruntés à Herculanum, des bas-reliefs sur fond bleu ciel avec des griffons, des attributs romains, des pilastres en or… sortant de festons et de guirlandes. » (Le théâtre de Langres et son passé historique, 1838-1850 – F. Boissard) Les loges présentaient également des décors de griffons soutenant des médaillons contenant principalement les profils de grands dramaturges.

Theatre en plan

Theatre en plan

Mentions Légales | Plan

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33