14-18 Langres

at war

The war Memorial:


From 21st November 1918, the municipal council authorised a monument to be erected in memory of the dead soldiers in the field of honour. On 28th December, it suggested paying homage to all the soldiers in the arrondissement. A provisional commission was created to « get in contact with the mayors of the different districts of the arrondissement who could make up the definitive committee. » The project was quickly abandoned because each community wanted to honour its own heroes. The municipal council therefore decided to limit it to soldiers from Langres only.

In October 1921, the competition for architects to create it was launched and eventually won by two Parisian artists: Georges Saupique and Aristide Rousaud. They made the different parts in their studio. The committee chose to place it in the Hôtel-de-Ville square (now Verdun square). To do so, the monument to Auguste Laurent, a brilliant chemist born in La Folie near Langres, had to be moved. The decision was made to put the bust in Saint-Ferjeux square. The assembly of the monument started at the end of the month of September. Everything seemed to be playing out according to plan.

However, on 24th October 1922, the municipal council criticised the aesthetics of the monument produced: « The structure is awkward; there is a disparity between the execution, the project and the model, in particular regarding the subject which dominates the Monument and the two allegories which frame it, as well as the plainness of the allegory representing the Marne. » Unfortunately, the inauguration date was already fixed and in spite of these complaints, the modifications that could be carried out could only be minor.

On 12th November 1922, the monument for the Dead, along with a commemorative plaque affixed on the Diderot College, were inaugurated in the presence of the Minister of Justice, Jean Colrat. A grant of 6000 francs had been approved for the organisation of the celebration, which ended with a lights show on the monument.

On 25th November, the municipal council nominated a commission charged with investigating possible modifications that could be effected. On 30th April 1923, it suggested requesting the artists to « Do whatever possible to make the upper part of the monument conform to the model […] Take off the two current allegories and replace them with others adhering to those framing the model” and if that wasn’t possible “replace them on the lower part with crowns, palms, laurels or trophies. »

The request was not acted upon and the ‘Monument aux Morts’ didn’t undergo any modifications.

Legal notice | Website map

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33

14-18 Langres

en guerre

Le monument aux morts :


Dès le 21 novembre 1918, le conseil municipal valide l’érection d’un monument à la mémoire des soldats morts au champ d’honneur. Le 28 décembre, il propose de rendre hommage à tous les soldats de l’arrondissement. Une commission provisoire est désignée pour « se mettre en rapport avec les Maires des différents cantons de l’arrondissement qui pourraient faire partie du Comité définitif. » Le projet est rapidement abandonné car chaque commune souhaite honorer ses propres héros. Le conseil municipal décide par conséquent de se limiter aux soldats Langrois.

En octobre 1921, le concours d’architectes lancé pour la réalisation est remporté par deux artistes parisiens : Georges Saupique et Aristide Rousaud. Ils réalisent les différentes parties dans leur atelier. Le comité choisi pour emplacement la place de l’Hôtel-de-Ville (actuelle place de Verdun). Pour cela il faut déplacer un monument érigé à Auguste Laurent, brillant chimiste né à La Folie près de Langres. La décision est prise d’installer le buste place Saint-Ferjeux. Le montage du monument commence à la fin du mois de septembre. Tout semble se dérouler comme prévu.

Pourtant, le 24 octobre 1922, le conseil municipal trouve à redire sur l’esthétique du monument livré : « Lourdeur de l’ensemble, dissemblance entre l’exécution, le projet et la maquette, notamment en ce qui concerne le sujet qui domine le Monument et les deux allégories qui l’encadrent, et nudité de l’allégorie représentant la Marne. » Hélas, la date de l’inauguration est déjà fixée et malgré les protestations, les modifications apportées ne peuvent qu’être minimes…

Le 12 novembre 1922 le monument aux Morts ainsi qu’une plaque commémorative fixée au collège Diderot sont inaugurés en présence du Ministre de la Justice, Jean Colrat. Une subvention de 6000 francs avait été votée pour l’organisation de la fête, elle se termine par une illumination et un embrasement du monument.

Le 25 novembre, le conseil municipal nomme une commission destinée à examiner les modifications qui pourraient être apportées. Le 30 avril 1923, elle propose de demander aux artistes de « Rendre, autant que faire se peut, conforme à la maquette, le motif supérieur du Monument […] Supprimer les deux allégories actuelles et les remplacer par d’autres conformes à celles qui encadrent la maquette » si cela n’est pas possible « les remplacer, à la partie inférieure, par des couronnes, palmes, lauriers ou trophées ».

La demande restera lettre morte et le monument aux Morts ne subira aucune modification.

Mentions Légales | Plan

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33