14-18 Langres

at war

The Old Covered Market:


Shortages

The war took time and cost dearly. To finance the conflict, France resorted to new taxes on consumable products (tobacco, alcohol…). From the start of the war, the price of certain foodstuffs soared and the mayor had to fix maximum tariffs to avoid an abundance of malevolent shopkeepers. In April 1915, shortages made prices increase. These shortages became greater throughout the year, so much so that in November, there were a few incidents in the market between Langres housewives and traders. The latter party were accused of selling their products at such a high price that, according to a journalist, only the rich and the soldiers could buy butter and eggs. In effect, hardly looking at the prices, soldiers involuntarily encouraged the inflation of these basic products. Following this accusation, the army reacted diligently with an enquiry in December. This was accompanied by a fraud policy which aimed to put an end to this type of abuse.

In his notebooks written during the war, the Primary School teacher in the girls’ school in the Place de l’Abbé-Cordier notes: « In October 1915, foodstuffs became rare; it is difficult to find wine, sugar, oil and butter. In November 1915, coal started to be in short supply. The air heater in the Hôtel de Ville didn’t work. In December, it got harder still. […] With the bakers mobilised, it was difficult to get bread. »

These restrictions had an impact on the running of the city. The former cog-railway did not escape the problems. (Far too?) Frequently used at the beginning of the conflict, notably by families who came to see the mobilised or sick soldiers in Langres, it was soon stopped because of the lack of fuel, but also due to technical failures. Finally, after numerous stops in 1915, a car service was put on to replace it from 18th December.

Ancien marché couvert de Langres

Ancienne cremaillère de Langres

Legal notice | Website map

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33

14-18 Langres

en guerre

L’ancien marché couvert :


La pénurie

La guerre s’installe dans la durée, et elle coûte cher. Pour financer le conflit, la France a recours à de nouvelles taxes prélevées sur les produits de consommation (tabac, alcools…). Dès le début du conflit les prix de certaines denrées flambent et le maire est obligé de fixer les tarifs maximums pour éviter les débordements de certains commerçants malintentionnés. En avril 1915, c’est la pénurie qui fait flamber les prix. Elle s’accroît tout au long de l’année si bien qu’au mois de novembre des incidents se produisent au marché entre les ménagères langroises et les marchands. Ces derniers sont accusés de vendre leurs produits trop chers à tel point que d’après le journaliste seuls les riches et les soldats peuvent s’offrir du beurre et des œufs. En effet, peu regardants sur les prix, les militaires encouragent involontairement l’inflation des produits de première nécessité. Mise en défaut, l’armée réagit en diligentant une enquête au mois de décembre. Elle s’accompagne d’une action du service des fraudes qui souhaite mettre un terme à certains abus.

Dans ses carnets rédigés pendant la guerre, l’instituteur de l’école de filles de la place de l’Abbé-Cordier note : « En octobre 1915, les denrées se font rares, il est difficile de trouver du vin, du sucre, du pétrole, du beurre. En novembre 1915, le charbon commence à manquer. Le calorifère de l’Hôtel de Ville ne marche pas. En décembre, la vie augmente encore […] Les boulangers étant mobilisés, on a du mal à trouver du pain. »

Ces restrictions ont un impact sur le bon fonctionnement de la cité. La Crémaillère n’échappe pas à la règle. Beaucoup (trop ?) utilisée au début du conflit, notamment par les familles venues voir des soldats mobilisés ou soignés à Langres, elle est bientôt arrêtée faute de combustible mais aussi en raison de pannes techniques. Finalement, après de nombreux arrêts en 1915, un service de voitures vient la suppléer à partir du 18 décembre.

Ancien marché couvert de Langres

Ancienne cremaillère de Langres

Mentions Légales | Plan

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33