14-18 Langres

at war

The storehouse:


The bread crisis

In 1915, the talk of the town was bread-making. From the month of August, certain bakeries closed as a result of the mobilisation of their owners. In order to resolve this problem, the municipality and the sub-prefect called on the army to make the young bakers available from the auxiliary service. Following the refusal of the bakers to make use of this manpower, the mayor asked the military authority to deliver leftover bread to the people.

On 25th August, Le Spectateur published an article from the town hall calling for young bakers for the town in order to shield itself from any further misfortune. This precaution turned out to be quite a useful one, as on 20th October, a new bread crisis was mentioned in the press. The auxiliaries made available by the military authority having been taken back, the bakers of the town announced that they were no longer able to fulfil the needs of the population. Once more, the municipality called on military management to provide the necessary bread, which was sold in the town hall.

The problem resurfaced at the beginning of the month of December. The mobilisation of certain workers meant that once again, bakers had to stop their trade. The paper offered the solution: « It would do to make workers from the storehouse available to the bakers when they need them. Mr. Military Quartermaster has told the municipality many times that this would not cause any inconvenience and that a few fewer workers in the storehouse would not hinder the making of the troop’s bread. » It was thus that the crisis was resolved a few days later. Without meaning to copy the old saying, in this story, the army took with one hand and gave back with the other…

Manutention

Manutention

Legal notice | Website map

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33

14-18 Langres

en guerre

La Manutention :


La crise du pain

En 1915, ce qui défraie les chroniques locales touche à la fabrication du pain. Dès le mois d’août, certaines boulangeries sont fermées pour cause de mobilisation de leurs propriétaires. Afin de résoudre ce problème, la municipalité et le sous-préfet font appel à l’armée pour mettre à disposition des garçons boulangers du service auxiliaire. Devant le refus manifesté par les boulangers d’utiliser cette main-d’œuvre, le maire demande d’urgence à l’autorité militaire de livrer le complément de pain pour la population.

Le 25 août, Le Spectateur publie une annonce de la mairie demandant des garçons boulangers pour la ville, afin de se prémunir d’une nouvelle mésaventure. Précaution bien inutile puisque le 20 octobre une nouvelle crise du pain est mentionnée dans la presse. Les auxiliaires mis à disposition par l’autorité militaire ayant été retirés, les boulangers de la ville ont annoncé ne pas pouvoir subvenir aux besoins de la population. Une fois de plus, la municipalité fait appel à l’intendance militaire pour fournir le pain nécessaire, vendu en mairie.

Le problème refait surface au début du mois de décembre. La mobilisation de certains ouvriers oblige à nouveau les boulangers à cesser leur activité. Le journal soumet une solution : « il suffirait de mettre à la disposition des boulangers, quand ils en ont besoin, des ouvriers de la manutention. M. l’Intendant militaire a déclaré à plusieurs reprises à la municipalité que cela n’offrait aucun inconvénient et que quelques ouvriers en moins à la manutention n’entraveraient en rien la fabrication du pain de troupe. » C’est effectivement de cette façon que la crise se résout quelques jours plus tard. Sans plagier le vieil adage, dans cette histoire l’armée prend d’une main ce qu’elle redonne de l’autre…

Manutention

Manutention

Mentions Légales | Plan

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33