14-18 Langres

at war

Jean du Breuil de Saint-Germain and the Great War


When war was declared, he was appointed lieutenant of the 13th dragoon regiment and commenced the Artois campaign. He was killed on 22nd June 1915 in Rivière, 8 kilometres to the south west of Arras (Pas-de-Calais). The story of his death is known, having been reported in detail by a comrade in combat: « Around 9:45 am there was an exchange of rapid gunfire coming from the bottom of the ravine… The brigadier and two patrol men had fallen injured on the slope of the ravine near to the stream. Breuil said: pass me a rifle, I’ll go. Followed by a non-commissioned officer and two men, he left running, hardly ducking, passed the listening post and descended the embankment to a small path halfway down the slope. At that moment, the Germans fired, a man fell at Breuil’s side saying: I’m hit. He replied: me too. He takes another two steps and falls to the floor. Death must have been instant. He had taken three or four bullets, one directly to the heart, another to the shoulder. The non-commissioned officer and the uninjured man stayed close to him and fired in the direction of the willows from which the rifle shots had come and then a few men were able to come with a stretcher to fetch him. He was buried two days later in Beaumetz ». The Army awarded him the Croix de Guerre and he was given the Legion of Honour posthumously.

Following his military honours, he received recognition for his talent as a writer, since the Académie Française had awarded him a Montyon prize for the prose in his session of 20th July 1915 with gold medal. At the end of the war, he was buried in the family vault in the Pailly cemetery (Haute-Marne).

The name of Jean du Breuil de Saint-Germain appears on many civil and religious commemorative monuments: the monuments of the Morts de Langres in the village of Pailly, the religious monument on the hill of the Fourches à Langres, the commemorative plaques in the Saint-Augustin church in Paris, Pailly church, the commemorative plaque for writers in the Pantheon and the commemorative plaque of the Société Historique et Archéologique de Langres (SHAL).

Jean Moreau du Breuil de Saint-Germain was elected as a contributing member of SHAL in the session of 11th November 1913, recommended by doctor Brocard. Even though his time in the society had been short-lived, he made a great impact posthumously.

On 20th October 1922, Albert du Breuil de Saint-Germain’s widow and her son, Pierre, suggested creating a prize bearing the name of Lieutenant Jean du Breuil de Saint-Germain, which would comprise 5000 francs and “would be awarded to a work concerned with the arrondissement of Langres or created by a person either originating from the arrondissement or residing there, in the fields of History, Literature, Art, Science or Morals.” On 12th November 1922, the day of the inauguration of the monument commemorating the dead, the prize was officially created.

On 31st October 1923, Mrs Albert du Breuil de Saint-Germain gave her Langres town house to SHAL to house a museum. It’s this building which is now the Maison des Lumières Denis Diderot, Musée de France, in accordance to the wishes of the donor and in memory of the Moreau Du Breuil de Saint-Germain family.

Text: Pierre Gariot, Société Historique et Archéologique de Langres

Legal notice | Website map

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33

14-18 Langres

en guerre

Jean du Breuil de Saint-Germain et la Grande Guerre


A la déclaration de guerre, il est affecté en qualité de lieutenant au 13e régiment de dragons et commence la campagne d’Artois. Il est tué le 22 juin 1915 à Rivière, à 8 kilomètres au sud ouest d’Arras (Pas-de-Calais). Le récit de sa mort est connu, rapporté en détails par un camarade de combat : « Vers 9 h 3/4, une fusillade assez vive éclate partant du fond du ravin…. Le brigadier et deux hommes de la patrouille sont tombés blessés sur la pente du ravin près du ruisseau. Du Breuil dit : donnez moi une carabine j’y vais. Suivi d’un sous officier et de deux hommes il part en courant, se baissant à peine, dépasse le poste d’écoute descend le talus va jusqu’à un petit sentier qui se trouve à mi pente. A ce moment les allemands tirent, un homme tombe à coté de du Breuil en disant : je suis touché. Lui répond : moi aussi. Il fait encore deux pas et tombe. La mort a du être instantanée. Il avait reçu trois ou quatre balles, une en plein cœur, une autre qui lui a brisé l’épaule. Le sous officier et l’homme valide sont restés auprès de lui et ont tiré dans la direction des saules où étaient partis les coups de fusil et quelques hommes ont pu venir avec une civière et le ramener. On l’a enterré deux jours après à Beaumetz ». Croix de guerre, cité à l’ordre de l’Armée, il est décoré de la Légion d’honneur à titre posthume.

Après les honneurs militaires, il reçoit une reconnaissance pour son talent d’écrivain puisque l’Académie Française lui décerne dans sa séance du 20 juillet 1915 un prix Montyon pour la prose avec médaille d’or. A la fin de la guerre, il est inhumé dans le caveau familial du cimetière du Pailly (Haute-Marne).

Le nom de Jean du Breuil de Saint-Germain apparaît sur plusieurs monuments civils et religieux commémoratifs : les monuments aux Morts de Langres, du village du Pailly, celui religieux de la colline des Fourches à Langres, les plaques commémoratives de l’église Saint-Augustin à Paris, de l’église du Pailly, la plaque commémorative des écrivains au Panthéon et la plaque commémorative de la Société Historique et Archéologique de Langres (SHAL).

Il a été élu membre correspondant de la SHAL dans la séance du 11 novembre 1913, parrainé par le docteur Brocard. Si son passage dans la société a été de courte durée il a eu des retentissements posthumes importants.

Le 20 octobre 1922, Mme Veuve Albert du Breuil de Saint-Germain et son fils Pierre proposent la création d’un prix portant le nom du lieutenant Jean du Breuil de Saint-Germain, doté de 5000 francs et « qui récompenserait un ouvrage écrit concernant l’arrondissement de Langres ou composé par une personne originaire de l’arrondissement ou y résidant, dans le domaine historique , littéraire, artistique, scientifique ou moral ». Le 12 novembre 1922, jour de l’inauguration du monument aux morts le prix est officiellement créé.

Puis le 31 octobre 1923 Mme Albert du Breuil de Saint-Germain donne à la SHAL son hôtel particulier de Langres pour en faire son musée. C’est ce bâtiment qui est maintenant la Maison des Lumières Denis Diderot, Musée de France, conformément aux vœux de la donatrice et en mémoire de la famille Moreau Du Breuil de Saint-Germain.

Texte : Pierre Gariot, Société Historique et Archéologique de Langres

Mentions Légales | Plan

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33