14-18 Langres

at war

Jean Marie Thomas Moreau du Breuil de Saint-Germain


He was an accurate representative of his social class. He was the eldest of a rural noble family which had formed a local dynasty. Originally, he chose the classic army route before moving towards historical and sociological studies, during which he engaged with feminism and votes for women, which was very original for his time.

Family Background:

Descendant of an old Langres family, his great-grandfather, Jean François Moreau du Breuil, who returned from emigration under the Restoration, decided to re-root himself in the region and create a local “dynasty”. To do so, he bought a town house in Langres and the castle in Pailly. The project was completed with his grandson, the father of our hero, Albert Moreau du Breuil de Saint-Germain who, after an administrative career as the sub-prefect of Sarrebourg and chief of the cabinet of the interior minister, became mayor of Pailly, general councillor of the district of Longeau and deputy of Haute-Marne. Jean Marie Thomas was therefore brought up in a family of classic public figures of the time: rich, Catholic, conservative and nationalist.

Born in Paris on 30th January 1873, he studies at the Stanislas college and the integrated Saint-Cyr military school. He was a dragoon officer for ten years and favoured highly by his superiors. However, he wasn’t cut out for the monotonous garrison life and so he gave in his resignation at the time of the Boer war, after which he set off for Africa to join up with Colonel Villebois-Mareuil’s French volunteers who were fighting the English. He arrived after the Colonel’s death and fought at first in the French voluntary ranks and then in the Russian ones until the surrender of Pretoria (31st May 1902).

Before returning to France, he travelled to Madagascar and then to Peru, Chile, Columbia and Central America.

On his return, he devoted himself to History and Sociology studies and got married to Marie Denisson, widow of Richard Winslow, on 8th November 1904. The couple remained childless.

As a participant in the Mollé conferences and occasional collaborator in Action Française, he talked about his experiences in Africa and the Boer war and reflected on subjects as diverse as the separation of the church and the state, democracy, the “loi des trois ans” (which demanded 2-3 years of military service) and the alcohol monopoly in Indochina. His texts were made into a book in homage to him after his death.

In his writings, he has the preconceptions of a man of his time and background. He was convinced of his European superiority, anti-Semitic and adversary of Freemasonry, but even still he had a notable ability for analysis and reflection which allowed him to nuance his « conditioned intellectual reflexes » acquired from his education. But where he was astonishingly modern was in his fight for votes for women and against their social poverty. His conference of 3rd May 1911, « women’s social poverty and suffrage », is a model for this genre. In this piece, he concludes that to commence the fight against women’s poverty from an economic, social and intellectual standpoint, they must be given the right to vote. Entire sentences from this conference are still relevant today.

Text: Pierre Gariot, Société Historique et Archéologique de Langres

Legal notice | Website map

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33

14-18 Langres

en guerre

Jean Marie Thomas Moreau du Breuil de Saint-Germain


Il est très représentatif de sa classe sociale. Aîné d’une famille de noblesse rurale qui a formé une dynastie locale, il a d’abord choisi la voie classique de l’armée avant de s’orienter vers les études historiques et sociologiques où son engagement sur le féminisme et pour le vote des femmes sont tout à fait originaux pour son époque.

Le milieu familial :

Descendant d’une vieille famille langroise, son arrière-grand-père Jean François Moreau du Breuil revenu d’émigration sous la Restauration, décide de se ré enraciner dans la région et de créer une « dynastie » locale. Pour cela il achète un hôtel particulier à Langres et le château du Pailly. Le projet aboutira pleinement avec son petit-fils, père de notre héros, Albert Moreau du Breuil de Saint-Germain qui, après une carrière administrative comme sous-préfet de Sarrebourg et de chef de cabinet du ministre de l’intérieur, devient maire du Pailly, conseiller général du canton de Longeau et député de la Haute-Marne. Jean Marie Thomas est donc élevé dans une famille de notables assez classique à l’époque : riche, catholique, conservatrice et nationaliste.

Né à Paris le 30 janvier 1873, il fait ses études au lycée Stanislas et intègre l’école militaire de Saint-Cyr. Pendant dix ans, il est un officier de dragons très apprécié de ses supérieurs. Mais il n’est pas fait pour la vie monotone de garnison et, au moment de la guerre des Boers, il donne sa démission et s’embarque pour l’Afrique rejoindre les volontaires français du colonel Villebois-Mareuil qui combattent les Anglais. Arrivé après la mort de celui-ci, il se bat d’abord dans les rangs des volontaires français puis dans ceux des Russes jusqu’à la reddition de Prétoria (31 mai 1902).

Avant de rentrer en France, il fait un grand voyage à Madagascar puis part ensuite pour le Pérou, le Chili la Colombie et l’Amérique centrale.

Revenu au pays, il s’adonne à l’étude de l’histoire et de la sociologie et se marie le 8 novembre 1904 avec Marie Denisson veuve de Richard Winslow. Le couple restera sans enfant.

Participant aux conférences Mollé et collaborateur occasionnel de l’Action Française, il fait part de son expérience sur l’Afrique et la guerre des Boers et réfléchit sur des sujets aussi divers que la séparation de l’Eglise et de l’Etat, la Démocratie, la loi des trois ans et sur le monopole de l’alcool en Indochine. Ses textes ont été réunis après sa mort dans un livre d’hommage.

Dans ses écrits, il a les « a priori » d’un homme de son temps et de son milieu, convaincu de la supériorité européenne, antisémite et adversaire de la franc- maçonnerie mais on note quand même chez lui une capacité d’analyse et de réflexion qui lui permettent de nuancer les « réflexes conditionnés intellectuels » hérités de son éducation. Mais là où il est d’un modernisme étonnant, c’est dans son combat pour le vote des femmes et contre la misère sociale de celles-ci. Sa conférence du 13 mai 1911, « la misère sociale de la femme et le suffrage », est un modèle du genre et il conclut que pour commencer à lutter contre la misère des femmes au point de vue économique, social et intellectuel, il faut leur donner le droit de vote. Des phrases entières de cette conférence sont encore d’actualité.

Texte : Pierre Gariot, Société Historique et Archéologique de Langres

Mentions Légales | Plan

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33