14-18 Langres

at war

The Hôtel de ville:


Victory and Commemorations.

The signing of the armistice put an end to four years of a horror never experienced before. Many French soldiers returned traumatised from this experience when they were able to return home. In Langres, as well as throughout France, victory was celebrated joyfully: the town was decorated with the French, American and English flags, the bells rang out for the American and French soldiers fraternising in the streets. A torch-lit party was organised accompanied by American musicians. The streets were bursting with people and the Marseillaise and the American national anthem could be heard throughout.

For the officials, the town hall organised a reception which the allies and all the important people of the town attended (judges, priests, presidents of different societies, etc…). It was an opportunity to pay homage through speeches to the heroism and courage of the soldiers, to express gratitude for the unfailing support of the allies and to pay tribute to those who had not returned from the front.

This joy which gripped everyone was dulled by the grief felt by those who had lost a loved one in the conflict. A doctor of the American military hospital n°53 expressed these mixed feelings: « We came to Langres and we have witnessed the French celebrations, at the same time aware of the presence of grieving women in the crowd, with sad faces, all dressed in black. The enormity of their loss and sacrifice seemed magnified by the joy of those for whom the end of the war meant happy family reunions. The streets were lit up for the first time in four years and an American orchestra played French music while the Americans shouted and sang. Those of us who watched from the ambulances seemed cold and distant, as they weren’t running around kissing everyone they met on both cheeks as the French do. » (History of Base Hospital Number Fifty-three, Compiled under the direction of Colonel W. Lee Hart)

On 26th March 1919, the municipal council decided to create a marble plaque to be placed in the room of honour in the Hôtel de Ville on which the names of the Langres soldiers who had fallen in battle would be engraved. A board with copies of these inscriptions was to be placed in every school. The council also suggested asking for two family photos, one placed in a frame hung in the room of honour, the other to be kept in a « golden album » which would be kept in the mayor’s cabinet. On 31st May of the same year, 1000 francs was allocated for the purchase of the frames and the albums. Charles Royer « whose artistic competence was well-known » was tasked with the placement and layout of the albums. These books were from then on part of the collections of the Marcel-Arland library, but the frames were lost.

Other articles related to City Hall:

Hôtel de Ville

Legal notice | Website map

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33

14-18 Langres

en guerre

L’Hôtel de Ville :


La Victoire et les commémorations.

La signature de l’armistice met fin à quatre années d’une horreur jusqu’alors inconnue. De nombreux poilus reviennent traumatisés de cette expérience, quand ils ont la chance de revenir. Comme partout en France, la victoire est célébrée à Langres par de grandes manifestations de joie : la ville s’orne de drapeaux français, américains et anglais, les cloches sonnent à la volée, les soldats américains et français fraternisent dans les rues. Une retraite aux flambeaux est organisée, accompagnée par des musiciens américains. Les rues débordent de monde et partout on entonne la Marseillaise et l’hymne américain.

Du côté des officiels, la mairie organise une réception à laquelle participent les alliés et toutes les personnes importantes de la ville (juges, prêtres, présidents des différentes sociétés, etc…). C’est l’occasion dans les différents discours de rendre hommage au courage et à l’héroïsme des soldats, de remercier l’engagement sans faille des alliés et d’avoir une pensée pour ceux qui ne reviendront pas du front.

Cette joie qui s’empare de tous est atténuée par le deuil de ceux qui ont perdu un proche dans le conflit. Un médecin de l’hôpital militaire américain n°53 évoque ce sentiment contrasté : « Nous sommes montés jusqu’à Langres et nous avons vu les Français faire la fête, tout à fait conscients de la présence dans la foule de femmes en deuil au visage triste et vêtues de noir. La grandeur de leur perte et de leur sacrifice semblait magnifiée par la joie de ceux pour qui la fin de la guerre signifiait d’heureuses réunions de famille. Les rues étaient éclairées pour la première fois depuis quatre ans et un orchestre américain jouait de la musique française, les Américains criaient et chantaient. Ceux d’entre nous qui regardaient depuis les ambulances paraissaient froids et peu démonstratifs, car ils ne couraient pas partout en embrassant ceux qu’ils rencontraient sur les deux joues, à la mode française ». (History of Base Hospital Number Fifty-three, Compiled under the direction of Colonel W. Lee Hart)

Le 26 mars 1919, le conseil municipal décide de réaliser une plaque en marbre placée dans la salle d’honneur de l’hôtel de ville où seront gravés les noms des soldats de Langres tombés au champ d’honneur. Un tableau reproduisant ces inscriptions est prévu pour être placé dans toutes les écoles. Le conseil propose également de demander deux photos aux familles, l’une placée dans un cadre accroché en salle d’honneur, l’autre conservée dans un « album-livre d’or » rangé dans le cabinet du maire. Le 31 mai de la même année, un crédit de 1000 francs est voté pour l’achat des cadres et des albums. Charles Royer, « dont la compétence artistique est bien connue » se charge de la disposition et de l’aménagement des albums. Ces livres font désormais partie des collections de la bibliothèque Marcel-Arland, les cadres sont perdus.

Autres articles relatifs à l'Hôtel de Ville :

Hôtel de Ville

Mentions Légales | Plan

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33