14-18 Langres

at war

Langres Station:


News from the front?

As a town close behind the front, Langres was the first point of call to assist with the human casualties of the battles. The town hospitals treated many injured people who arrived by lorry or train. Some only passed through and continued their journey back. On 10th October 1915, the girls’ school Primary School teacher of Boulevard de la République (now Boulevard de Lattre de Tassigny) wrote in his notebook: « A number of trains carrying injured people passed through the station. They were handed tobacco, cigarettes, chocolate, etc… - “We have them, we hold them!” they repeated to those who questioned them. »

In spite of the presence of many injured people in the hospitals, the only news from the front that came out in the press was that communicated by army officials until August 1915 when soldiers took leave and returned to Langres. On this occasion, Le Spectateur published an article which included soldiers describing « in joyful terms » the mud of Yser, the marshes of Woëvre, the chalky guts of Champagne and the black labyrinths of Artois. The journalist reported a dialogue between soldiers which ended so: « Roll on leave so that we can sleep a bit…there’s no way of closing your eyes in bed. – You only have to go to the little streets. You imagine being in the trenches. » The courage (unconsciousness?) of men is as if « the idea of going back to the inferno in a few days does not cause them any more sadness – and perhaps even less – than if they were returning to the barracks after the Easter holidays in times of peace. » Soldiers bragging? The journalist twisting their words? ...or instructions from the general staff in order to build up morale behind the lines?

In November a second wave of soldiers on leave arrived in Langres. The journalist noted this time that the men « were easily recognisable by their crumpled, faded clothes » , consequences of the battle of Artois, which had lasted since September. He capitalised on this opportunity to relay anti-German propaganda, putting words into the mouths of the soldiers: « These Bavarians are species of unintelligent, evil brutes like red imbeciles. With them, as with the Prussians, nothing can be done; we must kill them to defeat them […]. As for the Saxons, they seem more civilised with a more chivalrous character, as much as a German, even a Saxon, can be chivalrous. »

The nationalistic feeling spread all over the press which played the military propaganda game. When Le Spectateur published a section entitled « 1870-1914 – 44 years ago today » it was less to convey history and more to atone for the writer’s anti “Boche” allusions. However, a report on a camp of German prisoners working to repair the Villegusien reservoir was treated as an opportunity to remind people that « the lot of these guys is far from an unhappy one; the poor people in our country would easily cope with their regime” whilst “our prisoners in Germany are treated like vile criminals » …

Gare de Langres

Legal notice | Website map

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33

14-18 Langres

en guerre

La gare de Langres :


Des nouvelles du front ?

En tant que ville de l’arrière proche du front, Langres assiste au premier rang aux conséquences humaines des batailles. Les hôpitaux de la ville accueillent les nombreux blessés qui arrivent par camion ou par train. Certains ne font que passer et continuent leur route vers l’arrière. Ainsi le 10 octobre 1915, l’instituteur de l’école de filles du Boulevard de la République (actuel Boulevard de Lattre de Tassigny) note dans son carnet : « Il est passé en gare plusieurs trains de blessés. On leur a distribué tabac, cigarettes, chocolat, etc… - « Nous les tenons, nous les aurons ! » répétaient-ils à ceux qui les interrogeaient. »

Malgré la présence de nombreux blessés dans les hôpitaux, les seules nouvelles du front qui transpirent dans la presse sont celles des communiqués officiels de l’armée, jusqu’au mois d’août 1915 où des permissionnaires sont de retour à Langres. C’est l’occasion pour Le Spectateur de publier un article qui dépeint des soldats évoquant « en termes joyeux » les boues de l’Yser, les marais de la Woëvre, les boyaux crayeux de la Champagne et les noirs labyrinthes de l’Artois. Le journaliste rapporte un dialogue entre soldats qui se termine ainsi : « - vivement la fuite, pour que l’on puisse dormir un peu… Il n’y a pas moyen de fermer l’œil dans un lit. - Tu n’as qu’à te mettre dans la ruelle. Tu te figureras être dans la tranchée. » Le courage (l’inconscience ?) des hommes est tel que « la perspective de se retrouver dans quelques jours dans la fournaise ne les attriste pas plus – et peut-être moins – que s’ils regagnaient la caserne, après un congé de Pâques, en temps de paix. » Fanfaronnades de soldat ? Manipulation de la part du journaliste... ou consignes de l’Etat-Major pour remonter le moral de l’arrière ?

Au mois de novembre, une deuxième vague de permissionnaires arrive à Langres. Le journaliste note cette fois que les hommes « étaient facilement reconnaissables à leurs vêtements fripés et aux couleurs passées », séquelles de la bataille d’Artois qui dure depuis septembre. Il en profite pour relayer la propagande anti allemande, mettant ces mots dans la bouche des soldats : « ces Bavarois sont des espèces de brutes inintelligentes et méchantes comme des ânes rouges. Avec eux, comme avec les Prussiens, rien à faire, il faut les tuer pour en avoir raison. […] Quant aux saxons, ils paraissent plus civilisés et d’un caractère plus chevaleresque, si tant [est] qu’un Allemand, même saxon, puisse être chevaleresque. »

Le sentiment nationaliste se répand dans toute la presse qui joue le jeu de la propagande militaire. Lorsque Le Spectateur publie une rubrique intitulée « 1870-1914 - Il y a 44 ans aujourd’hui » c’est moins pour l’aspect historique que pour offrir au rédacteur un expiatoire à ses velléités anti « boche ». De même, un reportage sur un camp de prisonniers allemands travaillant à la réfection du réservoir de Villegusien est l’occasion de rappeler que « le sort de tous ces gaillards est loin d’être malheureux, et bien des pauvres gens de notre pays s’accommoderaient de leur régime » tandis que « nos prisonniers en Allemagne sont traités comme de vils criminels »…

Gare de Langres

Mentions Légales | Plan

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33