14-18 Langres

at war

The « Foyer du Soldat »


In direct contact with the men in the garrison, the « Foyer du Soldat », (« Soldiers’ Centre ») also known as « Abri du Soldat » (« Soldiers’ Shelter ») was in operation in Langres from the start of 1915. It was set up in a building on Rue Vauban belonging to the town, previously occupied by the Agricultural Society. Its role consisted of supplying « soldiers with warm drinks, everything needed to write, books and especially refuge. This work was undertaken by benevolent people. » (Ecole de filles – 3, place de l’Abbé-Cordier). Le Spectateur of 31st October stipulated that « women from a better world bestowed with tireless devotion set about serving these people, giving out hygienic drinks: tea or milk during winter, beer, lemonade or coconut in summer. » The centre was open from 5pm to 8pm and welcomed some 150 soldiers every evening in December 1915.

The administration of the centre was run by the « Pour l’Abri du Soldat » (« Soldiers’ Shelter ») committee, of which the treasurer was Madame Couturier, teacher at the Collège de Jeunes Filles (Young Girls’ College). It functioned thanks to donations which allowed the services for soldiers to be financed. However, in July 1915, Madame Couturier called on the municipal council to help with the consequential gas expenses which came about from the lighting of the room and the warming of drinks. Aware of the usefulness of such a scheme, the council decided to pay the 11,230 francs requested and to grant them freely. At the end of the year, victim of its own success, the Foyer had to appeal to generous donors via the press.

These initiatives, which were developed throughout the country, allowed soldiers to maintain a social link. Who better than a ‘comrade’ to understand what they had suffered on the battle field, or the removal and loneliness felt when they found themselves far from their loved ones? The Foyers au Soldat also offered entertainment, like this artistic and literary performance organised for the 1915 Christmas celebrations, which allowed a number of artists and soldiers in garrison in Langres to mix.

Foyer du soldat

Legal notice | Website map

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33

14-18 Langres

en guerre

Le Foyer du Soldat


En prise directe avec les hommes en garnison, le Foyer du Soldat, appelé aussi l’Abri du Soldat, fonctionne à Langres depuis le début de l’année 1915. Il est aménagé dans un immeuble de la rue Vauban appartenant à la Ville, anciennement occupé par la Société d’Agriculture. Son rôle consiste à fournir « aux soldats des boissons chaudes, tout ce qu’il faut pour écrire, des livres, et surtout un asile. Cette œuvre est entretenue par des gens charitables. » (Ecole de filles – 3, place de l’Abbé-Cordier). Le Spectateur du 31 octobre stipule que « Des dames du meilleur monde, d’un dévouement inlassable, se sont constituées leurs servantes et leur distribuent des boissons hygiéniques : thé ou lait pendant l’hiver, bière, limonade ou coco pendant l’été. » Le foyer est ouvert de 17h à 20h et accueille quelques 150 soldats chaque soir en décembre 1915.

L’administration du foyer est assurée par le comité « Pour l’Abri du Soldat » dont la trésorière est Mme Couturier, professeur au Collège de jeunes filles. La structure fonctionne essentiellement grâce aux dons qui permettent de financer les services mis à disposition des soldats. Cependant, en juillet 1915, Mme Couturier interpelle le conseil municipal sur la dépense conséquente en gaz occasionnée par l’éclairage de la salle et le chauffage des boissons. Conscient de l’utilité d’une telle Œuvre, le conseil décide de prendre en charge les 112,30 francs demandés et d’accorder la gratuité. A la fin de l'année, victime de son succès, le Foyer doit faire appel par voie de presse aux généreux donateurs.

Ces initiatives qui se développent dans tout le pays permettent aux soldats de conserver un lien social. Qui mieux qu’un « camarade » pour comprendre les souffrances endurées sur le champ de bataille, ou l’éloignement et la solitude ressentis lorsqu’on se trouve loin de ses proches ? Les Foyers du Soldat proposent également des divertissements, comme cette représentation artistique et littéraire organisée à l’occasion des fêtes de Noël 1915 mêlant numéros d’artistes et de soldats en garnison à Langres.

Foyer du soldat

Mentions Légales | Plan

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33