14-18 Langres

at war

Peigney Fort:


American automatic arms academy.

At the outbreak of the war, the fortifications around Langres were no longer adapted to defence against modern armament. Some work around Langres and on the forts should allow a reinforcement of resistance to an attack, but the old defence system would not stand up to a siege.

Rapidly the situation on the front was established and Langres and its surroundings seemed spared by the enemy advance. The citadel and the forts were then used to station troops and carry out exercises.

When the Americans organised their military academies in Langres, the forts became ideal training grounds for troops. Thus Fort Peigney was designated by the American Commandment as the American academy of automatic arms.

On 5th December 1917, Colonel John H. Parker of the American infantry received the Peigney Fort from the French army to establish the academy of automatic arms. It comprised a machine-gun section and an automatic rifle section. On April 11th 1918, the two sections joined the specialised infantry school. On August 1st 1918, the automatic rifle section remained attached to the infantry academy whilst the machine gun section became independent and was named the machine gun school. The objective was to train officers and ensigns to use machine guns. The training lasted four weeks.

Ecole de tir de Peigney

Legal notice | Website map

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33

14-18 Langres

en guerre

Fort de Peigney :


l’école américaine d’armes automatiques.

A la déclaration de guerre, les fortifications de Langres ne sont plus adaptées à la défense contre les nouvelles armes. Quelques aménagements réalisés autour de Langres et dans les forts devaient permettre de renforcer la résistance en cas d’attaque mais le système défensif ne pourrait résister en cas de siège.

Rapidement, la situation du front se stabilise et Langres et ses alentours semblent épargnés par l’avancée ennemie. La citadelle et les forts sont dès lors utilisés pour y stationner des troupes et effectuer des exercices.

Lorsque les Américains organisent leurs écoles de guerre à Langres, les forts deviennent des terrains d’exercice idéaux pour les troupes. Ainsi le fort de Peigney est-il désigné par l’Etat-Major américain pour accueillir une école américaine d’armes automatiques.

Le 5 décembre 1917, le colonel John H. Parker de l’infanterie américaine reçoit de l’armée française le fort de Peigney pour y établir l’école des armes automatiques. Elle se compose de la section de mitrailleuse et de la section de fusil automatique. Le 11 avril 1918, les deux sections rejoignent l’école des spécialistes de l’infanterie. Le 1er août 1918, la section de fusil automatique reste attachée à l’école d’infanterie tandis que la section de mitrailleuse devient autonome et prend le nom d’école de mitrailleuse. L’objectif est d’entraîner les officiers et sous-officiers à l’utilisation des mitrailleuses. Les cours se déroulent sur 4 semaines.

Ecole de tir de Peigney

Mentions Légales | Plan

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33