14-18 Langres

at war

The Cemetery during World War One:


Established in 1796 outside the town walls along the road to Paris, the Collinière cemetery was enlarged several times, in the 1840s and 1857. In 1897 the cemetery was insufficient and the town council decided to buy 90 hectares of land next to it which belonged to the Hospice of Langres. 4,700 Francs were allocated by vote to pay for it on 1st January 1899. On 30th January a motion to fence a quarter of the land was voted, work to be carried out in November. This part was known for a long time as the « New Cemetery ».

In 1914, just after war broke out, the death of several soldiers on the front and in the hospitals of the town made it necessary to reorganise this burial ground. Thus on 17th April 1915 the municipal council decided to extend the boundaries of the cemetery « following the large number of casualties since mobilisation. » For this purpose, the decision was « to take possession of part of the land bought for this purpose (in 1899), of which M. Mailfer, nurseryman, is the present tenant, and to build a masonry wall to enclose it. »

This extension was essential, since from 19th November 1914 General Joffre prohibited the transfer of military corpses within the armed zone. As Langres was situated in this zone and was under the same laws as the towns on the front, the numerous deaths of soldiers that occurred in the hospitals of the town meant the multiplication of burials in the cemetery. The council decided during the same meeting to place an enamel plaque on the grave of each dead soldier « to enable the families foreign to the town of Langres to find in the cemetery the burial place of their family members mobilised and deceased in this town during hostilities. »

Cimetière de Langres

Throughout the year of 1915, the Under-prefect occasionally authorised the transport of the corpses of soldiers within the 'département'. This allowed soldiers form the Haute-Marne who died in Langres hospitals to be buried in their village of origin. We can count 13 transportations of corpses of soldiers from January to June 1915, all deceased in the hospitals of Langres. After that, the prohibition seems to have been upheld since from 1916 to 1917 no record of movement of soldiers' corpses can be found.

In 1916, increasing pressure on the land forced the town to carry out more work on the cemetery. A vote on 2nd May authorised the construction of a temporary municipal tomb. In fact, to satisfy the wishes of families foreign to the town to recover the bodies of their dead at the end of the conflict, the municipality had authorised the « temporary laying out of bodies in the municipal tomb in the cemetery, which, accordingly, is now completely full. » The architect-surveyer of the town thus proposed a project costing 2,074.71 Francs.

The school-master of the girls' school of Abbé-Cordelier Square wrote in his notebooks about the years of conflict: « A lot of soldiers died here during the war. They are given handsome burials. Their coffins are covered with a tricolour flag, there are flags on each corner of the hearse. Soldiers surround the coffin, rifles lowered at half-mast. As they pass, many eyes are wet and sorrowful words are exchanged. Some Sidis died too. Their bodies are carried, wrapped simply in a sheet, on a stretcher and all the comrades sing a lugubrious chant. »

Cimetière de Langres

All Saints' Day, in 1915, was the occasion to give homage to all the fallen soldiers buried in Langres. In its almanac of the 28th October, En Avant, the local newspaper, announced the programme: « Sunday at 14:00 hours, from Diderot Square, a procession will leave bearing to the cemetery, to the graves of our soldiers, a wreath donated by the French Society of Souvenir (…) About a hundred of them since mobilisation are in their brotherhood of graves, each with the same modest black cross, arranged in lines of ordered disposition, they seem to be awaiting, weapons at the ready, the day of the great awakening. »

Other articles relative to the City hall:

Cimetière de Langres

Legal notice | Website map

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33

14-18 Langres

en guerre

Le cimetière et la première guerre mondiale :


Aménagé en 1796 à l’extérieur de la ville le long de la route de Paris, le cimetière de la Collinière a été agrandi à plusieurs reprises, dans les années 1840 et 1857. En 1897 le cimetière est devenu insuffisant et le conseil municipal décide d’acheter une portion de terrain contiguë de 90 ares détenue par l’Hospice de Langres. Les 4700 francs sont votés pour un paiement prévu le 1er janvier 1899. Le 30 janvier, une délibération est prise pour financer la clôture d’un quart du terrain, opération prévue au mois de novembre. Cette partie portera longtemps le nom de « Nouveau Cimetière ».

En 1914, au lendemain de la déclaration de guerre, la mort de plusieurs soldats sur le front et dans les hôpitaux de la ville nécessite la réorganisation de cet espace d’inhumation. Ainsi, le 17 avril 1915, le conseil municipal prend la décision de repousser les limites du cimetière « par suite du nombre élevé des décès survenus depuis la mobilisation ». A cette fin, il est décidé de « prendre possession d’une partie du terrain acheté à cet effet [en 1899], dont M. Mailfer pépiniériste est actuellement locataire, et [de] clore ce terrain par un mur en maçonnerie. »

Cet agrandissement est essentiel puisque dès le 19 novembre 1914 le Général Joffre interdit le transfert des corps de militaires dans la zone des armées. Or, Langres se trouve à l’intérieur de cette zone et est soumise à la même législation que les villes du front. Les nombreux décès de soldats qui ont lieu dans les hôpitaux de la ville multiplient les inhumations dans le cimetière. Le conseil décide au cours de la même séance de placer sur la tombe de chacun des militaires décédés une plaque émaillée « pour permettre aux familles étrangères à la ville de Langres de retrouver au cimetière le lieu de sépulture des membres de leurs familles mobilisés, décédés en cette ville pendant les hostilités. »

Cimetière de Langres

Tout au long de l’année 1915, la sous-préfecture autorise ponctuellement le transport des corps de soldats à l’intérieur du département. Cela permet d’inhumer dans leur commune d’origine les soldats haut-marnais décédés à l’hôpital de Langres. On dénombre 13 transports de corps de militaires de janvier à juin 1915, tous décédés dans les hôpitaux de Langres. Ensuite, l’interdiction semble être respectée puisque de 1916 à 1917 on constate l’absence de mouvements de corps de soldats.

En 1916, la pression foncière de plus en plus forte contraint la ville à réaliser de nouveaux aménagements dans le cimetière. Une délibération du 2 mai autorise la construction d’un caveau municipal provisoire. En effet, afin de satisfaire au désir des familles étrangères à la ville de récupérer les corps de leurs défunts à la fin du conflit, la municipalité avait autorisé « le dépôt provisoire des corps au caveau municipal du cimetière, qui, par suite, se trouve aujourd’hui complètement occupé. » L’architecte-voyer de la ville propose donc un projet pour 2074,71 francs.

L'instituteur de l'Ecole de Filles de la place de l'Abbé-Cordier note dans ses carnets rédigés au fil du conflit : « Il est décédé beaucoup de soldats ici pendant la guerre. On leur fait de beaux enterrements. Le cercueil est recouvert d'un drap tricolore. il y a des faisceaux de drapeaux aux quatre coins du corbillard. Des soldats entourent le cercueil, portant leur fusil en berne. Sur le passage, bien des yeux se mouillent, on échange des paroles apitoyées. Des Sidis sont morts aussi. On porte le corps, simplement enroulé dans un drap, sur un brancard et tous les camarades chantent une mélopée lugubre. »

Cimetière de Langres

Le jour de la Toussaint, en 1915, est l'occasion de rendre hommage aux soldats inhumés à Langres. Dans son Ephéméride du 28 octobre, le journal En Avant annonce le programme : « Dimanche, à 14 heures, de la Place Diderot partira un cortège portant au cimetière sur la tombe de nos soldats une couronne offerte par la Société du Souvenir français. [...] Ils sont une centaine depuis la mobilisation et dans leurs tombes fraternelles, à la modeste croix noire uniforme, rangées en ligne à l'ordonnance, ils semblent attendre, l'arme au pied, le jour du grand réveil. »

Autres articles relatifs à l'Hôtel de Ville :

Cimetière de Langres

Mentions Légales | Plan

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33