14-18 Langres

at war

Establishing the military plot:


224 graves of French, allied or enemy soldiers, killed during the first world war can be counted in the cemetery of Langres in 1929 (187 French, 8 allies and 29 enemy). The Town received finances from the Pensions Ministry for the upkeep of these graves. These individual tombs were dispersed around the cemetery, though most of them were grouped in the New Cemetery established in 1915.

In 1931, the Ministry of Pensions, Service of Military Tombs, was in charge of establishing national cemeteries and military tombs. The Prefect informed the communes by letter that « In most cases, military graves are spread all over the communal cemetery and their upkeep and arrangements are made very difficult. It is important to first assemble all the military graves in one homogenous square plot (« carré militaire »), which we will establish rapidly ». The mayor of Langres replied favourably to this demand, the town bought a plot of land near the Hospices at the time when the cemetery was enlarged in 1935.

The long job of contacting the families of soldiers buried in Langres was undertaken. They were given the choice to authorise the transfer of the body to the military plot in Langres or repatriate the remains to the cemetery of their home town. Only one family made this decision.

After preparatory work on the land, the exhumations and burials in the military plot began on 28th November and continued until 9th December 1938. 118 bodies went to the « Carré Militaire ». Of all the families invited to the ceremony, about ten made the trip, many were prevented by the distance, illness or old age...

Plan carré militaire

On 26th December, a report on the operation was sent by the mayor to the Ministère des Pensions, Service de l’Etat Civil et des Sépultures Militaires (the Ministry of Pensions, Service of Military Tombs). He wrote that the preparations began 15 days before the beginning of the operation. The exhumations took place « at a rate of 12 per day. The families were summoned each day in advance order: 3 families at 8 o'clock, 3 families at 9 o'clock, 3 families at 10 o'clock, 3 families at 2 pm (...) The bones were reunited gradually in a shroud then placed in a new coffin which was closed immediately and transported to its place in the “Carré Militaire” plot. »

The cost of the operation came to 9,734.08 Francs which was covered by the Ministry of Pensions on reception of the invoices paid by the town. In fact, while the Ministry provided the coffins, emblems and name plates, the rest of the operation was charged to the locality. Including flowers on the graves, for which the Ministry recommended hardy plants and flowers. At Langres, each grave was covered with a rose-bush.

The establishing of a military plot in the cemetery was also a matter of transferring the bodies of foreign soldiers fallen during the First World War and buried in Langres cemetery. Firstly the bodies of 27 German prisoners which were transferred in October 1938 to the German cemetery in Berru, situated about ten kilometres from Reims.

Then, in 1939, the bodies of 12 Russian soldiers went to Saint-Hilaire-le-Grand. This cemetery became the National Necropolis for Russian soldiers killed on French soil during the Great War.

Since 1968, near the « carré militaire », a military ossuary contains the remains of soldiers whose graves are no longer maintained. Covered in 1969 with a marble monument, it contains the bodies of 4 soldiers fallen for France in 1914-1918.

Le carré militaire

Legal notice | Website map

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33

14-18 Langres

en guerre

La constitution du carré militaire


On comptabilise 224 tombes de militaires français, alliés ou ennemis, décédés pendant la première guerre mondiale dans le cimetière de Langres en 1929 (187 français, 8 alliés et 29 ennemis). La Ville perçoit une indemnité du Ministère des Pensions pour l'entretien des sépultures. Ces tombes individuelles sont dispersées dans le cimetière, la plupart étant tout de même regroupées dans la partie du « Nouveau Cimetière » aménagée en 1915.

En 1931, le Ministère des Pensions, Service des Sépultures Militaires, est chargé de l’aménagement des cimetières nationaux et des tombes de militaires. Par courrier du préfet, les communes sont informées que « Dans la plupart des cas, les tombes de militaires sont réparties sur toute l'étendue du cimetière communal et leur aménagement et leur entretien sont ainsi rendus très difficiles. Il importe en premier lieu de rassembler toutes les tombes en un carré homogène à l'aménagement duquel il sera ensuite procédé. » Le maire de Langres répond favorablement à cette sollicitation, la ville achète un terrain auprès des Hospices au moment de l’agrandissement du cimetière en 1935.

Un long travail de prise de contact avec les familles des soldats enterrés à Langres est alors engagé. Le choix leur est donné entre autoriser le déplacement du corps dans le carré militaire de Langres ou rapatrier le défunt dans le cimetière de leur commune. Une seule famille prit cette décision.

Après des travaux de préparation du terrain, les exhumations et les inhumations au carré militaire commencent le 28 novembre et se poursuivent jusqu'au 9 décembre 1938. Ce sont 118 corps qui rejoignent le carré militaire. Sur l’ensemble des familles invitées à assister aux opérations, une dizaine fait le déplacement, beaucoup sont empêchés par la distance, la maladie, ou l’âge...

Plan carré militaire

Le 26 décembre 1938, un compte-rendu des opérations est envoyé par le maire au Ministère des Pensions, Service de l’Etat Civil et des Sépultures Militaires. Il y indique que les travaux préparatoires ont commencé 15 jours avant le début des opérations. Les exhumations se sont déroulées « à raison de 12 exhumations par jour. Les familles étaient convoquées chaque jour dans un ordre fixé à l’avance : 3 familles à 8 heures, 3 familles à 9 heures, 3 familles à 10h, 3 familles à 14 heures […] Les ossements étaient au fur et à mesure réunis dans un suaire puis placés dans le nouveau cercueil qui fut immédiatement fermé et transporté à sa place dans le carré militaire. »

Le coût de l’opération s’élève à 9734,08 francs pris en charge par le Ministère des Pensions sur présentation des factures réglées par la Ville. En effet, si le Ministère fournissait les cercueils, les emblèmes et les plaques nominatives, l’ensemble des opérations restait à la charge des collectivités. Y compris le fleurissement des tombes pour lesquelles le Ministère préconisait des fleurs et des plantes vivaces. A Langres chaque tombe était recouverte d’un rosier.

La constitution du carré militaire s’est accompagnée du transfert des corps de soldats étrangers morts pendant la première guerre mondiale et enterrés au cimetière de Langres. D’abord les corps de 27 prisonniers allemands qui sont transférés en octobre 1938 vers le cimetière allemand de Berru, situé à une dizaine de kilomètres de Reims.

Puis, en 1939, les corps de 12 soldats russes qui rejoignent Saint-Hilaire-le-Grand. Ce cimetière devient Nécropole Nationale dédiée aux soldats russes morts sur le sol français pendant la Grande Guerre.

Depuis 1968, à proximité du carré militaire, un ossuaire militaire accueille les restes des soldats dont les concessions ne sont plus entretenues. Recouvert en 1969 par un monument en marbre, il accueille les corps de 4 soldats morts pour la France en 1914-1918.

Le carré militaire

Mentions Légales | Plan

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33