14-18 Langres

at war

The American Cemeteries


As from 1917, the American army decided to set up their military academies and hospitals in Langres. With great foresight, the American military commandment wished to group together the bodies of its soldiers in specific cemeteries in order to help the families of the fallen in their remembrance when they came to France once war was over. If some towns and villages included a plot for the American military in their cemeteries, the American army preferred to obtain the land from the communes and sometimes from private individuals.

In Langres on 14th November 1917, the town council voted in favour of ceding to the French State some land belonging to Langre's Hospice Administrative Commission. The plot measuring six hundred square metres, « situated in the « Aux Carmes » zone », is neighbouring to the Collinière cemetery. The sale was made « for a price of eight thousand Francs per hectare, - land which should serve to establish a cemetery given over to the American army. » The plot which the American cemetery occupied is still visible today on the land register.

Less than a year later, on 7th October 1918, a new motion was voted for « the establishing of an American cemetery in the Franchises ». On the request of General Ragueneau, chief of the French mission to the American army, the under-prefect demanded of the town council « the creation of an American cemetery in the Franchises suburb, in Langres territory, close to the hospital under construction, the one already established near the communal cemetery being insufficient. »

The architect-surveyor of the town was thus asked to draw up a plan of the site, then a « Representative of the American Authorities being transported to the place, voted, as being the most suitable, the location situated to the left of the road n° 19 bis (...) » It is very likely that the representative of the American army mentioned was a member of the Burial Department. The municipal council accepted the location situated « at a far distance from any centre of inhabitations ».

Situated in a zone called « le champ Boya » (Didier DESNOUVEAUX, La Haute-Marne américaine, Club Mémoires 52 - 2014), the Franchises American cemetery partly occupied a plot which is today situated near the industrial zone.

Contrary to the initial decision, the American army decided to repatriate the bodies of the soldiers at the end of the conflict. Some of the remains were however transferred to Thiaucourt and Romagne-sous-Montfaucon necropolis. This massive repatriation « was possible as from 15th September 1920 when the President of the Council gave the American government his permission to exhume in all the army zone. » (Didier DESNOUVEAUX , idem.) In the two American cemeteries of Langres, 298 bodies were repatriated and 136 transferred to the necropolis of Thiaucourt in Meurthe-et-Moselle.

Legal notice | Website map

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33

14-18 Langres

en guerre

Les cimetières américains


A partir de novembre 1917, l’armée américaine décide d’implanter à Langres des écoles militaires et des hôpitaux. Très prévoyante, l'administration militaire américaine souhaite regrouper les corps de ses soldats dans des cimetières spécifiques afin de favoriser le recueillement des familles qui viendraient en France une fois la guerre terminée. Si certaines communes intègrent un carré militaire américain dans leur cimetière, l'armée américaine préfère toutefois acquérir les parcelles auprès des communes et parfois des particuliers.

A Langres, le 14 novembre 1917, le conseil municipal donne un avis favorable pour la cession à l’Etat Français d’un terrain appartenant à la Commission Administrative des Hospices de Langres. La parcelle de six cent mètres carrés, « sise lieu dit « Aux Carmes » », se trouve dans le prolongement du cimetière de la Collinière. La vente s’effectue « moyennant le prix de huit mille francs l’hectare, - terrain devant servir à l’installation d’un cimetière à affecter à l’Armée américaine. » La parcelle occupée par le cimetière américain est encore visible sur le cadastre actuel.

Moins d’un an plus tard, le 7 octobre 1918, une nouvelle délibération est prise pour l’« Aménagement d’un cimetière américain aux Franchises ». Sur demande du Général Ragueneau, chef de la mission française auprès de l’Armée américaine, le sous-préfet demande au conseil municipal « la création d’un cimetière américain au faubourg des Franchises, territoire de Langres, à proximité de l’Hôpital en construction, celui déjà installé près du cimetière communal étant insuffisant. »

L’architecte-voyer de la ville est par conséquent chargé d’établir un plan des lieux, puis un « Représentant de l’Autorité américaine s’étant transporté sur place, a adopté, comme convenant le mieux, l’emplacement situé à gauche de la route nationale n°19 bis […] ». Il est fort probable que le représentant de l'armée américaine mentionné soit un membre du « Burial Department » (Service des funérailles). Le conseil municipal valide cet emplacement situé « à une distance très éloignée de tout centre d’habitations ».

Situé au lieu dit « le champ Boya » (Didier DESNOUVEAUX, La Haute-Marne américaine, Club Mémoires 52 - 2014), le cimetière américain des Franchises occupait en partie une parcelle aujourd'hui située à proximité de la zone industrielle.

Contrairement à ce qui avait été envisagé initialement, l'armée américaine décide de rapatrier les corps de ses soldats à la fin du conflit. Une partie des corps sera toutefois déplacée dans les nécropoles de Thiaucourt et de Romagne-sous-Montfaucon. Ce rapatriement « put se faire massivement à partir du 15 septembre 1920 quand le Président du Conseil eut donné, au gouvernement américain, son accord d'exhumer dans toute la zone des armées » (D. DESNOUVEAUX, Ibid.). Dans les deux cimetières américains de Langres, 298 corps ont été rapatriés et 136 transférés à la nécropole de Thiaucourt en Meurthe-et-Moselle.

Mentions Légales | Plan

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33