14-18 Langres

at war

Carteret-Trecourt Barracks:


The American army academies. The Marne Valley and the American Hospital

When war was declared, the Cartaret-Trecourt barracks were used by the French army. Upon mobilisation, the building was occupied by territorial reserve troops. It also held depots for clothing necessary for uniforms for volunteer and enrolled mobilised forces.

When the Americans arrived in November 1917, the building was designated for the Army General Staff College. The first classes were given on November 28th 1917 in Spartan conditions. The furniture was crafted from rough wooden planks, large halls were heated only with a small stove burning green wood which gave off a lot of smoke, there was no electricity and they were lit with oil lamps...The numbers were 75 student officers.

During the session, the American army decided to improve studying conditions for the student officers. As from 1st January 1918, the furniture was changed, electricity installed in the barracks and the stoves replaced with more efficient models. At the end of the first training course, on February 15th 1918, the Army General Staff College qualified 45 students to serve in different units.

On 4th February 1918, the building was host to the College of the American Line in charge of training officers in infantry tactics. As from 25th July 1918, the American Information School took its place. The classes taught the officers about the organisation of the German army, prisoner interrogation, how to make use of documents seized from the enemy and how to read aerial photographs.

In 1918, the Americans set up extra hospitals in the Marne Valley:

- Base Hospital n°53: the unit arrived in Langres on August 7th 1918 and built huts capable of holding up to 1,500 beds. It received its first patients on 16th September and was to treat 12,108 sick and wounded patients during its active period which ended on March 16th 1919. On 9th March 1919, on demand of the Lieutenant Colonel Hart, Chief Doctor of the American Hospital n°53, the municipal council authorised the American medical personnel to wear on their left arm the coat of arms of the town of Langres. The hospital ended its functions on 31st May 1919.

- Base Hospital n° 88: this unit reached the hospital n°53 on 11th October 1918. It received its first patients on 15th October. 4,691 patients received surgery and care until its departure on January 11th 1919.

Together with Evacuation Hospital n°18, they formed the Hospital Center, a medical unit able to receive up to 4,000 patients.

Legal notice | Website map

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33

14-18 Langres

en guerre

La caserne Carteret-Trécourt :


Les écoles de l’armée américaine. La vallée de la Marne et l’hôpital américain.

A la déclaration de guerre, la caserne Carteret-Trécourt est occupée par l’armée française. Au moment de la mobilisation, ce bâtiment sert au casernement des troupes de réserve et territoriales. Il accueille également l’un des dépôts d’habillement nécessaire à la distribution des uniformes aux mobilisés et engagés volontaires.

A l’arrivée des Américains en novembre 1917, le bâtiment est destiné à l’école américaine d’Etat-Major (Army General Staff College). Les premières classes sont données le 28 novembre 1917 dans des conditions spartiates : le mobilier est bricolé avec des planches de bois grossières, les grandes salles sont chauffées avec un petit poêle alimenté avec du bois vert produisant énormément de fumée, il n’y a pas d’électricité et il faut s’éclairer avec des lampes à pétroles... L’effectif est alors de 75 élèves officiers.

En cours de session, l’armée américaine décide d’améliorer les conditions d’étude pour les élèves officiers. A partir du 1er janvier 1918, le mobilier est changé, l’électricité est installée dans la caserne et les poêles sont remplacés par des modèles plus efficaces. A la fin de la première session de cours, le 15 février 1918, l’école d’état-major américaine diplôme 45 élèves qui vont servir dans différentes unités.

Le 4 février 1918, le bâtiment accueille l’école de Ligne américaine chargée de former les officiers aux tactiques d’infanterie. A partir du 25 juillet 1918, l’école américaine de renseignements y prend place. Les cours dispensés enseignent aux officiers l’organisation de l’armée allemande, l’interrogation des prisonniers, l’exploitation de documents pris à l’ennemi et l’interprétation des photographies aériennes.

En 1918, les Américains installent des hôpitaux supplémentaires dans la vallée de la Marne :

- Base hospital n°53 : l’unité arrive à Langres le 7 août 1918 et construit des baraquements permettant d’accueillir jusqu’à 1500 lits. Elle reçoit ses premiers patients le 16 septembre et va traiter 12108 malades et blessés durant sa période d’activité qui prend fin le 16 mars 1919. Le 9 mars 1919, sur demande déposée par le Lieutenant colonel Hart, Médecin Chef de l’Hôpital Américain n°53, le conseil municipal autorise le personnel médical américain à porter comme insigne sur le bras gauche les armes de la ville de Langres. L’hôpital cesse de fonctionner le 31 mai 1919.

- Base hospital n°88 : l’unité rejoint l’hôpital n°53 le 11 octobre 1918. Elle reçoit ses premiers patients le 15 octobre. En tout, 4691 soins et opérations chirurgicales seront pratiqués jusqu’à son départ le 11 janvier 1919.

Avec l’Evacuation Hospital n°18 ils forment l’Hospital Center, une unité médicale pouvant accueillir jusqu’à 4000 patients.

Mentions Légales | Plan

Office de Tourisme du Pays de Langres - BP16 - 52201 Langres cedex - Tél : 03 25 87 67 67 - Fax : 03 25 87 73 33